Cart 0
Faith of My Heart - Sacred Choral Music of Franz Liszt

Faith of My Heart - Sacred Choral Music of Franz Liszt

$5.95 $21.00

"You may be sure, dear friend, that I did not compose my works as one might put on a church vestment instead of an overcoat, but that it has sprung from the truly fervent faith of my heart, such as I have felt it since my childhood. . . and therefore I can truly say that my Mass has been more prayed than composed." 
— Franz Liszt to Dr. Gille, Zurich, November 14, 1856

In celebration of the 200th birth anniversary of Franz Liszt, Gloriae Dei Cantores presents an overview of his sacred choral music, including the Missa Choralis, settings of the Pater noster and Ave maris stella, and other works.  Faith of My Heart explores the lesser-known, deeply spiritual side of Franz Liszt—the man who fought tirelessly to raise the standards of sacred music, setting aside all notions of popular esteem to remain faithful to his vocation as a true church musician.  Despite the intense personal suffering and upheaval in his life, Liszt always returned to the church for refuge, comfort, and strength.  This hard-won peace, as well as his passionate insistence on raising the caliber of sacred music, is reflected in this recording.


1. Pater Noster

2. Ave Maria

3. Christus ist geboren

4. Ave maria stella

5. Rosario

6. Qui seminant in lacrimis

7. Missa Choralis, Kyrie

8. Missa Choralis, Gloria

9. Missa Choralis, Credo

10. Missa Choralis, Sanctus/Benedictus

11. Nun danket alle Gott






Share this Product

More from this collection